About Tool Vendor accreditation by PeopleCert

PeopleCert’s Tool Vendor accreditation has two unique features. First, it is the only software assessment that authoritatively confirms ITIL compatibility. Second, it is the only accreditation that addresses the qualification of people who design, develop and implement ITSM software, creating a new value for the market.

The Tool Vendor tiering model

The Tool Vendors achieve different levels of ITIL accreditation depending on the two main factors:

  • The number and a set of ITIL best practices implemented in their tools, which is verified against a set of specially designed criteria.
  • The number of specialists with relevant ITIL certifications.

By maintaining higher accreditation levels, a Tool Vendor invests in maintaining the proper qualification of professional working in software development for IT management and implements ITIL best practices.

This approach is intended to provide a sound basis for the tool selection process. This will enable end-customers to make more informed decisions and reduce risks due to a better understanding of the market.


Level Bronze Silver Gold Platinum Platinum Global
Num of ITIL Practice Managers certificates1 1 5 10 20 80
Num of ITIL How to Implement certificates 1 5 10 20 80
Num of ITIL Sales Professional certificates 1 3 5 10 40
Number of certified practices 1 3 9 12
Mandatory practices CMDB CDMB, SCM and SLM2
Other requirements An ATV must have specialists with PM certifications for all practices within the scope of the tool certification3

(1) The number refers to certificates, not people. The same person can have any number of certificates. Multiple-product vendors can fulfil requirements for all relevant products with the same people / certificates.
(2) Configuration Management Database, Service Catalogue Management and Service Level Management.
(3) For every certified practice there must be at least one person certified as a practice manager in the corresponding area. The total number of required certificates can be achieved as an arbitrary combination of individual Practice Manager certifications.

The tool assessment criteria

Tools are assessed against a set of functional criteria, supporting the business needs of modern enterprises:

  1. The criteria are developed by leading subject matter experts with over 20 years’ hands-on experience in ITSM consultancy and process automation
  2. To align with ITIL evolution and technological innovations (including AI, predictive analytics, and other developments), the criteria are revised and updated annually. The current criteria were updated in 2023
  3. The criteria evaluate not only out-of-the-box functionality, but also recognise the flexibility of today’s software platforms accounting for further customisation based on all sorts of process and organisational requirements

The actual set of criteria is based on ITIL 4, but PeopleCert is also currently working on criteria for assessing project management tools based on the PRINCE2 framework and DevOps tools.

Currently, there are over 500 criteria for the following ITIL 4 practices:

  • Monitoring and Event Management
  • Incident Management
  • Service Request Management
  • Problem Management
  • Service Catalogue Management
  • Service Level Management
  • Capacity and Performance Management
  • Availability Management
  • Service Continuity Management
  • Information Security Management
  • Change Enablement
  • Relationship Management
  • Deployment Management
  • Release Management
  • Knowledge Management
  • Service Financial Management
  • Measurement and Reporting
  • Service Configuration Management
  • Supplier Management

There are mandatory (core) and optional (enhanced) criteria for each practice. To become certified, the tool must fit all the mandatory and at least 70% of all criteria for the assessed practices.